Storming and water in the basement

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well, it’s not a good experience to have a hurricane heading your way while your partner is in another province. I’m in this new house, and I am still getting used to things around here.

I walk down into the basement to find myself faced with water. The basement is unfinished, but still water inside is never good. So here I am alone, just me and the cats, now knowing what to do. So I call the fix it guy.

He comes down lickety split, and I find out the water is coming from the mysterious pipe in the basement. This mysterious pipe did at some point have a purpose, it used to be used with something called a sump pump.

For those of you like me who have no idea what this type of contraption is, here is a wiki link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sump_pump

 

Anyway, at some point the town fixed the drainage problem with eliminated the need for a sump pump. So they just plugged up the sump pump drainage pipe which led outside. Over the years the pipe’s stuffing has come out which led to today which a mini river growing in the basement. The water outside was coming in through the pipe. Not exactly what one wants to happen.

Now it is filled with plastic bags and tomorrow it will be capped.

I am a leak finder. I miss living in populated areas. I am not a country folk.

Leave a Reply

