Book Review: The Grace of God by Andy Stanley

Posted: September 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

Title: The Grace of God

Author: Andy Stanley

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Publication Date: 2010

 

 

What is Grace? How do we get grace? Are we deserving of God’s grace? As Christian people we long to be recipient of God’s Grace. Author, Andy Stanley in his book “The Grace of God” takes a close look at Grace. In 221 pages Stanley tries to tackle the hard topic of grace. It is a huge topic and one just has to go to the Christian section of the bookstore to see that many before Stanley have attempted to describe God’s grace.

 

Stanley uses a straight forward approach to discuss grace, his writing is clear and understandable. The book is well laid out in 13 chapters. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of Grace. The beginning chapters stick more closely to scripture when talking about Grace. Later chapters use both scripture and fictional examples.

 

This isn’t a deeply theological book, in that it doesn’t go into the work of Augustine or Luther etc, but it is a book that I found myself reading a chapter at a time. Having read theological works for years, I have to say I did not like the format of Stanley’s work in having his “key points” bolded. I felt that this was unnecessary for me, and in some ways it distracted my own train of thoughts while reading.

 

This may not be the great resource that I keep on my shelf to come back to, but I think that this may be a book that I lend to someone who is struggling, and perhaps doesn’t have the theological background. It would appeal more to the crowd that I describe as “theological lite”. If you like Max Lucado, Joyce Rupp, then you may want to try this book. It’s a nice easy reading book on a difficult topic.

 

Rated 4/5 a good starting point.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

If you are interested in reading more reviews you can find the book on:

http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/product?isbn=0849947162&event=AFF&p=1024296

Leave a Reply

